

June 17, 2010 Issue No. 33

www.local54.teachers.ab.ca Local Phone: 780-451-1196 Fax: 780-454-1250 Last regular issue of the Intercom.

Watch for Local News to be published next week!

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT: Hello everyone,

As the year winds down, I hope you are managing the incredible load placed on your shoulders and that you feel supported by all of us who have been given positions of caring for you. As members of each community, I know how well you reach out and support each other so continue with the challenge...rest is coming. One humorist once wrote that when you reach the end of your rope...tie a knot and hang on!

Last evening, Tuesday, both of the local executives spent a couple of hours with our Minister, the Honorable Dave Hancock. Thanks to the efforts of our friend Ed Butler, President of the Public Teachers' group, we had the opportunity to hear from and discuss with the minister several topics that are important to all of us.

Last night as well, Kathy and I attended the Board Awards evening at St. Joseph High. Students and staff from across the District were highlighted and many of our teaching peers were honored for various accomplishments. What is amazing is that, no matter what the political climate, our teachers continually rise above the controversies and give the very best to students and fellow teachers. We, the Body, are honored whenever another part of the Body does well. It was evident that our peers took great satisfaction that other teachers were recognized for a job well done. To all the recipients, on behalf of your local executive, I extend warm congratulations and thank you for your gifts, talents and service to us all.

One more intercom and as of today only 14 sleeps.

Continue to care and to all dads...Happy Father's Day! ~Sandy

NEED A LAUGH?

"Real Learning: No Laughing Matter" is an evening of comedy and conversation hosted by the Local with sponsorship from the ATA taking place on Monday, June 21st at the Walkabout Pub on Whyte Avenue at 7pm. We have 10 tickets to give away! If you would like to see teacher comedians at their finest and be part of the fun, be one of the first ten teachers to email: kathy.macisaac@ecteachers.ca

PRESIDENT'S RECEPTION: June 22nd

This year's President's Reception will take place on Tuesday, June 22nd from 7-9pm at the Highlands Golf Club. Invitations have been sent to all who have served our Local this year. RSVP to: jan.bossmin@ecteachers.ca

JOIN OUR DRAGON BOAT RACING TEAM!!!

Our Local's Dragon Boat team is looking for a few more paddlers! If you would like to be part of the fun this summer (August 20-22nd), please email our Communications Chair: Christopher.Ferguson@ecsd.net

VACATIONING? HOTEL RATES FOR ATA MEMBERS 2010

Information on reduced hotel rates for ATA members is available by visiting www.teachers.ab.ca, Publications >Other Publications >ATA Membership and Services.

ELECTIONS CORRECTIONS:

In our excitement to share the amazing involvement of our members who were willing to run for the Local's committee chair positions, a few teachers were missed in last weeks' Intercom. We congratulate the following: Chair of Continuing Teacher Development-Marcel Evaristo; Chair of the New Teacher Mentorship-Kristina Kastelan-Sikora; Chair of Administrators Committee-Dwain Tymchyshyn; Co-chairs of Social Justice-Gail Frost and Ann McFarlane. We look forward to working with you next year. Revised list is printed on the back.

LOVE TRAVEL?

Calabria La Dolce Vita Tour 2010- 16 days, departing Edmonton Sept. 5 (minimum 18 people). For more information, email: Francesca.Perri@ecsd.net

Meetings and Events

Tuesday, June 22, 2010 7-9pm, President's Reception, Highland Golf Club.

Wednesday, June 30, 2010 Last day of classes! Local office closes for the summer! We will reopen at 8:30am on Monday, August 30, 2010

If members require assistance over the summer while the Local office is closed, the following websites and numbers are available:

Alberta Teachers' Association: (780-447-9400)
www.teachers.ab.ca

Alberta Teachers' Retirement Fund (780-451-4166) www.atrf.com

ASEBP (780-431-4786) www.asebp.ab.ca

Sandy Gillis, Local President
sandy.gillis@ecteachers.ca
Kathy MacIsaac, Exec. Director
kathy.macisaac@ecteachers.ca
Jan Bossmin, Office Manager
jan.bossmin@ecteachers.ca

Website:

www.local54.teachers.ab.ca

WORDS OF INSPIRATION

"If you see every problem as a nail, the only tool you need is a hammer."

~Anonymous

DECISION 2010!!!!! Member involvement at an all time high!

How wonderful it was to see the democratic process in action at our Council meeting on June 8th! The auditorium at Barnett House was full of positive energy and enthusiasm as we elected our Executive and committee chairs for 2010/11. Sincere thanks to all teachers who let their names stand for election to one of the 22 positions available. Congratulations to the following individuals (We know that you will serve our members well):

*Names bolded were missed last week.

Edmonton Catholic Teachers Local EXECUTIVE for 2010/11

President: Sandy Gillis

Vice President: Greg Carabine
Vice President: Jonathan Sharek

Past President: Patricia Clancy-Novosel Executive Director: Kathy MacIsaac

> Member Services Liaison: Sandra Esposito Teacher Welfare Liaison: Wayne Prokopiw

Communications and Public Relations Liaison: Mark Martin

Governance Liaison: Darrin Bauer

Professional Development Liaison: Azza Ghali

Social Justice Liaison: Amy Cooper GETCA Liaison: Christine Bowers

Substitute Teacher Liaison: Dolores Gillett

Chairs of Standing Committees

ARA: President, Sandy Gillis

Constitution/Local Admin Guidelines: Darrin Bauer

Elections: Ron Zacharko

Finance: Vice President, Greg Carabine

Continuing Teacher Development: Marcel Evaristo New Teacher Mentorship: Kristina Kastelan-Sikora

Administrators: Dwain Tymchyshyn

Social: Bert Facciotti, Jack Wrotniak

New Teacher Induction: Melanie Mercier

Teacher Retirement Reception: Denis Gauthier School Opening Mass: Floriana Bruni-Bossio Political Engagement: Janet Davies-Davis Communications & PR: Chris Ferguson

Diversity, Equity & Human Rights: Lynn Smarsh

Scholarships and Bursaries: Angie Bober

Social Justice: Gail Frost and Ann McFarlane

Representatives for Ad Hoc Committees

EAFEC (Edmonton Area Field Experiences Committee): Denise Adolf and Karen Lupul CSJAFEC (Campus St Jean Area Field Experiences Committee): Kristina Kastelan-Sikora

Representatives for 2011 Teachers' Convention Committee (GETCA)

Jeff Girard, Christine Bowers, Marlene Forest-Wallace, Paul Begoray, Alex Buttgieg and Marcelle Labossiere.