

June 4, 2009 Issue No. 33 Local: 780-451-1196 Fax: 780-454-1250

UPCOMING EVENTS:

The President's Reception Appreciation Barbecue Thursday, June 11, 2009 4-6:30pm

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

This past week has been very energizing for our Local. The formal celebration of our retirees was a joyous occasion for all who were able to attend. The room was filled with the sound of happy people sharing memories and stories. With closed eyes, it was reminiscent of long evenings around the kitchen table. To all committee members who contributed to the success of the evening, a huge heartfelt thank you!

This past Saturday night, I had the privilege of attending the Excellence in Teaching Awards Gala at the Westin. Four of our teachers with Edmonton Catholic received the award and, on behalf of all of us, I extend warm congratulations to: Janet Davies Davis , Marcel Evaristo, Lisa Hailes and Susanna Makale.

I believe that we teachers have come to a deep understanding that the Excellence in Teaching Award given to a select few (twenty province wide) is a tribute to us all. The recipients honour us all with their achievement. The award highlights the wonderful vocation of teaching and gives us a great opportunity to talk about the invaluable service provided daily to children in every classroom throughout the province by dedicated professionals. A special thank you to all the peers of these honoured ones who took time from busy schedules to write letters of support and fill out the forms necessary for their success.

Good luck to all in the next few weeks; we should probably all be on a special fitness and meal plan just to get us to the finish line.

Take care of each other, ~Sandy

A REMINDER ABOUT YOUR HEALTH SPENDING ACCOUNT

Please be advised that the deadline for the Health Care Spending Account (HCSA) is August 28, 2009 at 4:00pm. The last date for getting services provided for the 2008/2009 plan year is June 30, 2009, so please ensure that you forward your expenses to ASEBP immediately to ensure you receive your Explanation of Benefits in time to submit to your HCSA. Any submissions that have not gone through the regular benefit provider first will be returned to the employee.

SCHOOL OPENING CELEBRATION - 20 USHERS NEEDED!

The School Opening Celebration is scheduled for Tuesday, September I at the Winspear Centre. We ask that staff gather for the welcoming at 8:30am so that the Mass can begin promptly at 9:00am. If you would like to volunteer to be an **usher**, please email Azza Ghali: <u>ghalia@ecsd.net</u> or Dan Alba: <u>albad@ecsd.net</u>. Anyone interested in joining the **choir** may contact Ray McLellan: <u>mclellanr@ecsd.net</u> or phone Sharon (780-989-3048) All rehearsals will take place on Monday, August 31, at the Winspear: Rehearsal for ushers -5pm; choir -6pm.

PRESIDENT'S RECEPTION - June 11, 2009

Mark your calendars: This year's President's Reception will take place on Thursday, June 11, 2009 from 4:00-6:30pm in the outdoor courtyard and rotunda of Barnett House. Invitations were sent out in last week's mailing. This year's event will take the form of a barbecue to thank all those who have served the Local over the past year. This is an informal, drop-in event. Please phone Jan at the Local office if you plan to attend (780-451-1196).

HAVE YOU SENT YOUR GRANT IN AID FOR REIMBURSEMENT?

A friendly reminder: To ensure your grant in aid for 2008-2009 is eligible for reimbursement from the Local, you must send your Grant In Aid form with proof of attendance from your approved conference, along with your expenses, **before Friday, June 12.** The financial year of the Local closes on June 30. Grants received after June 12 may not be processed. *~Kathy Maclsaac*, Executive Director

WORDS OF INSPIRATION

"Whenever you fall, pick up something." ~ OSWALD THEODORE AVERY

Printed on the back: Picture of Teachers of Excellence recipients; Names of Executive and Committee Chairs elected for the 2009-2010 school year. **Included in this mailing:** School Opening Mass Poster... please post and share

Meetings and Events

Tuesday, June 9, 2009 Executive Mtg. #10, 4:30pm, Room 406, Barnett House

Thursday, June 11, 2009 President's Reception Barbecue, 4-6:30pm, Courtyard, Barnett House. Drop in for a quick visit or stay a while.

Tuesday, June 30, 2009 Local office closes for summer holiday! We will reopen at 8:30 am on Monday, August 31, 2009 to start a new year!

Monday, August 31, 2009 Rehearsal for School Opening Mass: Ushers at 5pm; Choir at 6pm at the Winspear Centre.

Tuesday, Sept. 1, 2009 School Opening Mass: Winspear Centre, 8:30 doors open - 9am Mass begins.

Website:

www.local54.teachers.ab.ca

Kathy MacIsaac, Exec. Director kathy.macisaac@ecteachers.ca

Sandy Gillis, Local President sandy.gillis@ecteachers.ca

Jan Bossmin, Office Manager jan.bossmin@ecteachers.ca

Council Dates:

President's Reception:

Thursday, June 11/09

Edmonton Catholic Teachers Receive Excellence in Teaching Awards-May, 2009



Marcel Evaristo (St. James), Susanna Makale (St. Clare/Ben Calf Robe), Carol Henderson (ATA Vice President), Lisa Hailes (Anne Fitzgerald) and Janet Davies-Davis (Austin O'Brien HS)

Edmonton Catholic Teachers Local Executive for 2009/10

President: Sandy Gillis Vice President: Amy Cooper Vice President: to be determined by a by-election in the fall Past President: Patricia Clancy-Novosel Member Services Liaison: Pina Hackman Teacher Welfare Liaison: Wayne Prokopiw Communications and Public Relations Liaison: Jonathan Sharek Governance Liaison: Rob Jong Professional Development Liaison: Azza Ghali Members at Large: Amber Nicholson Kyle Porter Substitute Teacher Liaison: to be elected in September Executive Director: Kathy Maclsaac

Chairs of Standing Committees

Constitution: Darrin Bauer Elections: Greg Carabine Communications: Chris Ferguson Political Engagement: Val Knebel Professional Development: Christine Bowers Diversity, Equity & Human Rights: Lynn Smarsh School Opening Mass: Floriana Bruni-Bossio Teacher Retirement Reception: Denis Gauthier New Teacher Welcoming: Melanie Mercier Vocations and Scholarships: Angie Bober Social: Bert Facciotti, Jack Wrotniak

Ad Hoc Committees

EAFEC (Edmonton Area Field Experiences Committee): Denise Adolf CSJAFEC (Campus St Jean Area Field Experiences Committee): Kristina Kastelan-Sikora