

June 7, 2007 Issue No. 34 Local Office: 451-1196 Fax: 454-1250

#### **UPCOMING EVENTS:**

June 14, 7pm, President's Reception for those members involved with Local committees and Council.

# SEND THEM A MESSAGE

Many, many years ago Perry Como had a TV show which included a section on letters that he got from his viewers requesting songs for him to sing. The opening lines to the section were sung and went like this, "...letters, we get letters, we get stacks and stacks of letters". Wouldn't it be nice if the government began singing that song? In Tuesday morning's Edmonton Journal, Minister Liepert commented on how severely the increasing value of the Canadian dollar against the US buck will impact the finances of Alberta. Imagine that...and he isn't even the Provincial Treasurer!! He is psychologically working on you and, coincidentally, the Trustees, since it was at their recent meeting that he laid out this dire warning. He conveniently ignored the predictions of the ever increasing price of oil. We can either succumb to this constant bullying by the Government and continue to be their whipping boys or can battle back and send stacks of letters and emails to the premier indicating how misguided his funding of education is and the impact it will have on this province. To assist you in this process the ATA has just opened its communication to the government site at <u>www.budgetmore.com</u>. From your <u>home</u> computer just go to the site and an editable form letter with a drop down list of MLAs is available. Write to your MLA, the Minister and Honest Ed. I am sure that they would like to hear from you. ~Gerry McHugh, Exec Director

## **CONGRATULATIONS RETIREES!**

The retirement of 39 teachers was celebrated at the 2007 Retirement Mass and Banquet at St. Agnes Church and St. Basil Cultural Centre, on Friday, May 25. The Mass was con-celebrated by Archbishop Richard Smith and Father Tesfu Kelati. The music at the Mass was provided by a talented team of singers and musicians made up of Ray McLellan, Trish Hobden, Beth Pecson and Tamara Rivers. After the dinner, the retirees were greeted and acknowledged by Chairperson Debbie Engel, speaking on behalf of the Board of Trustees, Superintendent Joan Carr on behalf of the District, and President Shannon McElroy on behalf of teachers and the Executive of the Local. Dan Forest responded on behalf of the retirees and entertained the assembled guests with a delightful retrospective of the shared experience of the last thirty plus years as a teacher in the District. Thank you Dan!

I would like to acknowledge the dedicated service of **all** 65 teachers retiring from our school district and sincerely thank them for their work with students and parents, and for their mentorship and support of the many colleagues and staff members they be-friended over their careers. Their many and varied gifts will leave an endearing contribution on the culture of our District.

Finally, my sincere appreciation to Kathy MacIsaac and the Teacher Retirement Reception Committee consisting of Paul Gagne, Denis Gauthier, Sean McGuiness, Josephine Rennie, Gerry McHugh and Jan Bossmin, and photographers Patti Liogier and Bernie Lemay, for their many contributions to the success of the evening. ~S.McElroy

### SCHOOL OPENING CELEBRATION-August 29, 2007

Included in this mailing is a poster advertising the School Opening Celebration. This year we ask that staff gather for the welcoming at 8:30am so that the Mass can begin promptly at 9:00am. If you would like to volunteer to be an usher or member of the choir, please phone the Local office (451-1196). All rehearsals will take place on Tuesday, August 28 at the Winspear: ushers at 5pm; choir at 6pm.

Included in this mailing:School Opening Celebration poster; Council Grants in Aid for 2007-2008 to qualifying council reps; Council meeting #08 Motions Report for inclusion in your ATA binderPrinted on the back:Results of Council elections for Executive and Committee Chairs

### **Meetings/Events**

**Tuesday, June 12, 2007** Final Executive Meeting for this year! 4:30pm, Room 406, Barnett House

**Thursday, June 14, 2007** President's Reception, 7pm, Cafeteria, Barnett House

Friday, June 29, 2007 Local office closes for summer holidays. We reopen at 8:30am on Monday, August 27, 2007. Happy Summer!

Wed., August 29, 2007 School Opening Celebration, 8:30 gathering and welcoming, 9:00 Mass. Please phone the Local to volunteer for the choir or to be an usher.

### Local Email:

G. McHugh, Executive Director <u>gmchugh@telusplanet.net</u> S. McElroy, Local President <u>smcelroy@telusplanet.net</u> J. Bossmin, Office Manager <u>jbossmin@telusplanet.net</u> **Website:** <u>www.local54.teachers.ab.ca</u>

**Council Dates: PRESIDENT'S RECEPTION:** Thursday, June 14/07



### LOCAL 54 EXECUTIVE AND COMMITTEE CHAIRS FOR THE 2007-2008 SCHOOL YEAR

Table Officers (second year of a two year term – no election):

President – Vice Presidents – Past President – Executive Director –

Shannon McElroy Markiana Cyncar-Hryschuk and Amy Cooper Patricia Clancy-Novosel Gerry McHugh \*\*\*\*\*\*

EXECUTIVE MEMBERS: (10 Executive meetings per year plus 8 Council meetings)

GOVERNANCE- shall act as liaison between Executive and Constitution and Election committees: WAYNE PROKOPIW

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT- shall act as liaison between Executive and P D Committee: AZZA GHALI

**MEMBER SERVICES** - shall act as liaison between Executive and Social, Retirement, Substitute, Opening Liturgy, and

Teacher Welcoming Committees: PINA HACKMAN

TEACHER WELFARE – responsible for preparation and bargaining of amendments to Collective Agreement, Chair of EPC/ NSC and shall review insurance agreements: **ROB JONG** -NO ELECTION UNTIL BARGAINING IS COM PLETED

COMMUNICATIONS & PR- to act as liaison between Executive and Political Engagement, Communications Committee and Vocations and Scholarships Committees: SANDY GILLIS

#### SUBSTITUTE REP-To be elected in September, 2007

COUNCILLORS AT LARGE (2) - responsible for duties as assigned: (1) JEFF GIRARD (2) AMBER NICHOLSON

#### **Chairs of Standing Committees:**

Government Area:	
Constitution- Elections- ARA- <b>Professional Development Are</b> a	Wayne Prokopiw Greg Carabine President, Shannon McElroy-(no election) a:
Professional Development- Diversity, Equity & Human Rights- Member Services Area:	Azza Ghali Lynn Smarsh
Social- Teacher Welcoming- Teacher Retirement- Substitutes- Administrators- School Opening Celebration- Retirement Planning- <b>Teacher Welfare: (No Election)</b> Economic Policy/NSC-	Bert Facciotti and Jack Wrotniak Melanie Mercier and Lauren Podlubny Kathy MacIsaac To be elected in September, 2007 Danny Kinal Floriana Bruni-Bossio Greg Hopchin Rob Jong (no election)
Communications & Public Relations:	
Political Engagement- Communications- Vocations & Scholarships-	Lauren Podlubny Sandy Gillis Angie Bober

#### Ad Hoc Committees:

Local Representatives-Edmonton Area Field Experiences (EAFEC)-Local Representative - Campus Saint-Jean Area Field Experiences (CSJAFEC)- Lynn Koss and Lise Audet lennifer Kornder

Congratulations to our new slate of Executive members and Committee Chairs. The Local sincerely appreciates your dedication and commitment to its membership.